Year 6

Year 6 News

More..

Hello and welcome to Year 6.

This year each class has been named after a Welsh bird or animal. Our class name is Dosbarth Barcud, this means ‘Kite’ in Welsh.

 

Below we have included some information about our class and how we work. We are holding a drop in session on Thursday 14th September between 3:15pm- 4:15pm where we will be available to answer any of your questions.

 

The people who work in our class are:

Mr Allman

Miss Jones

Miss Heard (Monday afternoons)

Mrs Martin (Thursday afternoons)

 

Our week in school and things to remember:

Tuesday – PE day; we suggest that the children keep their PE kits in school at all times though just in case (our swimming term will be in the summer term).

Wednesday- Forest School; again we suggest that the children keep their kits in school

Friday- Spelling books should be brought back ready to change each Friday.

 

What are we learning about this term?

Our topic this term will be WWII. Through our literacy lessons we will be writing and reciting our own speeches based on Winston Churchill’s famous WWII speech. We will be studying Newspaper reports from the WWII period and writing our own reports during the outbreak of the war. We will also be writing a narrative based on “Goodnight Mr Tom”. Throughout the topic we will also be covering many skills from the other subjects in the Year 6 curriculum particularly history, geography, art and ICT.

Our numeracy lessons will have a different focus each week and will cover all aspects and skills of the mathematics curriculum. Mrs Martin will teach the children music and PSHE.

Learning at home

New spelling lists will also be sent home on a Friday. We practise these daily in school too.

Homework- throughout the Key Stage 2 we all send home take-away homework; more information about this will be sent along with the first set of challenges at the end of the week.

Important dates this term

Thursday 14th September- Drop in session for parents to meet the teacher (Years 1-6)

Friday 15th September – WW11 Workshop at Wrexham Museum (Year 6)

Monday 18th September – Year 6 morning at Ysgol Ruabon

Wednesday 20th September- Famous Artist Day

Friday 22nd September- NSPCC on-line safety meeting for parents at 3:15pm- film and snacks for children

Friday 29th September- Healthy Living Day

Friday 6th October– Harvest festival at church- time tbc

Tuesday 17th October/Wednesday 18th October- Parents evening for all classes from 3:30pm

Wednesday 25th October- Autumn disco Infants 4:30-5:30pm; juniors 6pm- 7pm

 

Coffee mornings

Tuesday 24th October Year 5; Thursday 26th October Year 6

Tuesday 7th November Year 4; Thursday 9th November Year 3

Tuesday 14th November Year 1; Thursday 16th November Year 2

 

Friday 1st December- Christmas fair

 

Christmas Concerts

Monday 11th December- Nursery and Reception- Morning performance only

Tuesday 12th December- Year 1 and 2 afternoon and evening performance

Wednesday 13th December- Key Stage 2 performance (afternoon and evening)

Thursday 14th December- Key Stage 2 performance (evening)

 

If you would like to download a printable version of this document, please click the link below

Year 6 Autumn term overview