Reception

Reception News

More..

Hello and welcome to Reception.

This year each class has been named after a Welsh bird or animal. Our class name is Dosbarth Wiwer, this means ‘squirrel’ in Welsh.

 

The people who work in our class are:

Miss Jones

Mrs Duke

Mrs Roberts

 

Our week in school and things to remember:

Thursday- PE day; we suggest that the children keep their PE kits in school at all times though, just in case.

Thursday- Forest school

Friday- Reading and homework will go home in book bags.

 

What are we learning about this term?

The first few weeks of term will be spent practicing routines. The children will be getting used to the classroom set up and the routines we have. Our first topic is Marvellous Me and we will be talking about the home and their families. We will naming the parts of the body and learning about the senses. We will be discussing what makes a good friend. We start to learn letters and learn to form the letters correctly. We will start with s a t i p n. Once the children are confident recognising and forming the letters they will be able to start blending letters together to write and spell simple words. We will also be focussing on name writing and introducing the children to a few sight words. The children have been introduced to I and am this week. We will be focussing on the Shirley Hughes books – Dogger and the Alfie books. In maths we will be focussing on counting forwards and backwards and recognising numbers to 10. Those children who are ready will be moved on to higher numbers. We counting and matching items to numbers. We will be ordering and comparing numbers and recognising 2d and 3d shapes. We will also be working on one more and one less.

 

Learning at home

Reading. Over the next few weeks when we feel the children are ready we will send a reading book over the weekend. This is to be returned on a Monday please. The children will also come home with sounds to practice and sometimes homework.  The children in turn will bring Poppy Penguin home. There will be a book for you to write about her adventures. In the book you can include photographs or your child might like to draw pictures and write a little bit.

Children have had the wow cards home. Please send back the slip as soon as a wow moment has occurred.  I will be sharing with you each week what we are focusing on and if you could reinforce this at home, then this would be wonderful.

 

Important dates this term

Thursday 14th September- Drop in session for parents to meet the teacher (Years 1-6)

Wednesday 20th September- Famous Artist Day

Friday 22nd September- NSPCC on-line safety meeting for parents at 3:15pm- film and snacks for children

Friday 29th September- Healthy Living Day

Friday 6th October– Harvest festival at church- time tbc

Tuesday 17th October/Wednesday 18th October- Parents evening for all classes from 3:30pm

Wednesday 25th October- Autumn disco Infants 4:30-5:30pm; juniors 6pm- 7pm

 

Coffee mornings

Tuesday 24th October Year 5; Thursday 26th October Year 6

Tuesday 7th November Year 4; Thursday 9th November Year 3

Tuesday 14th November Year 1; Thursday 16th November Year 2

 

Friday 1st December- Christmas fair

 

Christmas Concerts

Monday 11th December- Nursery and Reception- Morning performance only

Tuesday 12th December- Year 1 and 2 afternoon and evening performance

Wednesday 13th December- Key Stage 2 performance (afternoon and evening)

Thursday 14th December- Key Stage 2 performance (evening)

 

To download a printable version of this information, please click on the link below:

reception Autumn term overview